Book Review: Recursion

Author: Blake Crouch

Rating: 4/5 stars

Book Blurb: Reality is broken.
 
At first, it looks like a disease. An epidemic that spreads through no known means, driving its victims mad with memories of a life they never lived. But the force that’s sweeping the world is no pathogen. It’s just the first shock wave, unleashed by a stunning discovery—and what’s in jeopardy is not our minds but the very fabric of time itself.
 
In New York City, Detective Barry Sutton is closing in on the truth—and in a remote laboratory, neuroscientist Helena Smith is unaware that she alone holds the key to this mystery . . . and the tools for fighting back.
 

Together, Barry and Helena will have to confront their enemy—before they, and the world, are trapped in a loop of ever-growing chaos.

This was good!

This book led to some great conversations about time travel with my husband. I told him I wanted to discuss some of the book’s science behind time travel and he said, “Are we using Back to the Future rules or no?”

So no, we are not neuroscientists.

You also could have done a drinking game for the times “We tried… and we failed,” was said by the main characters in the book. Goodness gracious.

So my review? Oh yeah… this was a solid thriller. I did not know how this story would resolve and I liked that. I read it quickly, once you start the last 100 pages or so just cancel what you have planned until you are done. I also liked how Crouch made the science accessible for us Back to the Future fans in the vein of Michael Crichton and Anthony Weir. Though I still question if things would play out the way Crouch says it would…

But again, I’m not a neuroscientist. I don’t even know how a flux capacitor works.

Recommend!

Definitely recommend!

2 responses to “Book Review: Recursion”

  1. The only thing ANYONE needs to know about flux capacitors is that if you reverse their polarity, it’ll fix everything 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: